New Site Bug List

Discussion in '3reef Forum News & Information' started by Matt Rogers, May 30, 2014.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. 2in10

    2in10 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,258
    Location:
    Sparks, NV
    Updating Java did not work either.
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. 2in10

    2in10 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,258
    Location:
    Sparks, NV
    Turned Windows Firewall off completely , no luck.
     
  4. Mr. Bill

    Mr. Bill Native Floridian

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,874
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah, didn't think it would be the firewall. Might possibly be 8.1's version of Windows Defender (antivirus/antispyware), though. You can get Avast or AVG for free from CNET.com. JMO, but personally I'd rather have a reputable name in the security department guarding my PC rather than Microsoft's new default minimal protection plugin.
     
  5. Corailline

    Corailline Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    19,652
    Location:
    It is a dry heat, yeah right !
    We always take all the Microsoft plugins out. Strip it down to the basics and add what we want.
     
    Mr. Bill likes this.
  6. Mr. Bill

    Mr. Bill Native Floridian

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,874
    Location:
    USA
    Same, here. AVG antivirus and ZoneAlarm firewall for me. I've used that combo with great results since Win98. :)
     
    Corailline likes this.
  7. 2in10

    2in10 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,258
    Location:
    Sparks, NV
    I turned Defender off and still no dice.
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. Mr. Bill

    Mr. Bill Native Floridian

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,874
    Location:
    USA
    Well, I'm stumped. I'm now logged in with IE 11 ... still no problems... and I'm not even using compatibility mode. :confused:
     
  10. Corailline

    Corailline Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    19,652
    Location:
    It is a dry heat, yeah right !
    Mr.Bill have you tried window 8 and 8.1? I do think that is part or the root of the problem.
     
    Mr. Bill likes this.
  11. Mr. Bill

    Mr. Bill Native Floridian

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,874
    Location:
    USA
    I'm thinking the same thing, but no, I haven't. I don't have access to an 8.0/8.1 machine. I wiped my HDD and downgraded to 7 about a month ago due to the vast array of compatibility issues.

    FWIW, Matt stated that he had the same problem at home, but not at work. Unfortunately, he didn't mention what platform he was using or if they were the same...
     
    Corailline likes this.
  12. Matt Rogers

    Matt Rogers Kingfish Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    13,466
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    Thanks for your help here Mr. Bill. I use a Mac and Chrome at home. I only saw the issue that 2in10 and Corailline have on the first load after I updated the Latest Threads Section. Once I reloaded it was fine.

    @2in10 - sorry for the hassle - thanks for trying different things. Perhaps we can narrow it down.

    Hey zesty - Did you try just adding the link without using the video button in the editor? I believe that will just post a link or am I mistaken? EDIT - I AM MISTAKEN. IT DOES IT AUTOMATICALLY. Hmm.. I'll look into it.

    The video does have dynamic size to fit your screen width now on desktop or phone.
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2014
    Mr. Bill likes this.
: 3reef