Recommended Sticky Thread

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by NASAGeek, Jan 18, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. NASAGeek

NASAGeek Eyelash Blennie

I wanted to recommend a sticky thread listing all the normally tested water parameters and their recommended ranges.

Ideally, such a thread would also contain logic such as, if Calcium too low, check the following: 1) Mg reading must be approximately 3 times that of the intended Calcium reading. Otherwise, the Calcium percipitates out of the water. 2) Check auto-dosing unit or reactor, increase dosage.

Similar If High check this,... If Low, check this logic for each parameter.

I am new to all of this. Could you experienced folks, help me build such a listing of parameters, recommended ranges and trouble shooting tips. It would seem a useful stand-by to have available for everyone.

Thanks
    Mark

1 person likes this.
  2. Click Here!

3. irr0001

irr0001 Purple Tang

Great idea! I usually find myself googling stuff like this..

4. inwall75

inwall75 Giant Squid

5. NASAGeek

NASAGeek Eyelash Blennie

Parameter Range Source LiveAquaria.com

Does anyone check any other parameters?

Does anyone actually test for Iodine and Strontium? How are those maintained??

Where I need help more than anything is the what to do trouble shooting steps for if High or if Low.

THanks
    Mark

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 18, 2010
  6. NASAGeek

NASAGeek Eyelash Blennie

Thanks. I'll reference that article and update this thread. I'd really like to have everything "at my finger tips" on 3reef.com. Nothing wrong with providing proper reference and quoting right?

That will be tomorrow project after acclaimating my FIRST NEW FISH ARRIVING!!!!!, WOOHOO!!!

M

7. missionsix

missionsix Super Moderator Staff Member

8. Click Here!

9. NASAGeek

NASAGeek Eyelash Blennie

MissionSix,