Your opinion: Purchasing Cured Rock

Discussion in 'Live Rock' started by dancin_trancy, Nov 17, 2005.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. dancin_trancy

dancin_trancy Fire Worm

I am new to the hobby....and would like your opinion on if it is a good idea to purchase pre-cured live rock. And if so, any resources of who I might be able to purchase good quality live rock from.

I originally started my set-up with crushed coral substrate, & tufa rock & synthetic corals for decor. I did my research prior to this decision..but there are so many opinions out there as to what will work and what will not. Another forum member advised that crushed coral is a mistake as it will trap gases etc. and will become a problem. So I am now debating on switching to sand. I do however feel that having live rock will do nothing but help my system so why not.

My tank is set up with water mixed and machines running....but I want to if possible skip the curing process of the rock, or at least reduce it. Do you feel that precured rock is a good option, or bad news! Also, want your opinion on my substrate....Im trying to avoid empting the tank, changing it and filling it back up...if I preform the proper upkeep of the substrate, is it going to be that much of a problem?

Thanks a bunch for your insite, it is greatly appreciated!

2. Click Here!

3. skennelly

skennelly Coral Banded Shrimp

I think pre-cured rock is a very good option. I added cured LR when I started up my 90 gallon and I never had an ammonia cycle.

However, I would be very cautious no matter what anybody tells you. Even though the rock I had was very good from the get go I was still very cautious and kept a very close eye on water parameters and didn't throw in a big bioload until I new for sure everything was fine.

I would be skeptical of anyone saying they sell fully cured LR. I certainly wouldn't pay any extra money.