Will FW algae hurt??

Discussion in 'Algae' started by bmshehan, Mar 10, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. bmshehan

    bmshehan Fu Manchu Lion Fish

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,904
    Location:
    Columbus, Indiana
    I get my RO water from a friend, we split the cost of filters in exchange for the water. When I went to fill my jugs a peice of algae came out of the siphon hose into my jug. If I use this water for topoff, can the "freshwater algae" survive in my tank?? It is in one big chunk, so I can make sure the algae itself doesn't make it in the tank, but should I dump this water to be on the safe side?? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. Froc3

    Froc3 Fire Goby

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Sk
    I'm certain anything from the algae will die off, but i'd hang tight until some of the pros chime in.
    Evan.
     
  4. bmshehan

    bmshehan Fu Manchu Lion Fish

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,904
    Location:
    Columbus, Indiana
    Lots of people on, so *bump*!!

    Any ideas/comments???
     
  5. Otty

    Otty Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,467
    Location:
    Elizabethtown, IN
    You mean he had algae growing in his RO water containers??
     
  6. baugherb

    baugherb Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205
    Location:
    southington, ohio
    Don't know if this will help, but I used a old freshwater hob filter, I'm sure it had some algae growth even after rinsing it and cleaning it really good. I haven't seen any ill effects in my tank....
     
  7. reef_guru

    reef_guru Humpback Whale

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,752
    Location:
    joliet,il
    no and you wouldnt want anyway
    yup, and find a different water source. if the water is growing algae, theres a problem. also clean out the siphon hose it might need it, never know if the algae came from the hose.
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. bmshehan

    bmshehan Fu Manchu Lion Fish

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,904
    Location:
    Columbus, Indiana
    The water had been sitting in a trash can with no circulation, and the siphon hose was in the bottom. Think it might have just built up in the hose over time? It was definitely in the hose, it came out right away. We have since added a powerhead to keep some circulation in there. I will dump the water, no since in taking chances.
     
  10. reef_guru

    reef_guru Humpback Whale

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,752
    Location:
    joliet,il
    i dont let my water sit, as soon as its mixed it goes in. if i ever do a water change, cant remember the last time.
     
  11. Otty

    Otty Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,467
    Location:
    Elizabethtown, IN
    That would scare me a bit because there is no light down there in the basement. Better safe then sorry like RG said.

    You don't have any emergency water ready?
     
  12. bmshehan

    bmshehan Fu Manchu Lion Fish

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,904
    Location:
    Columbus, Indiana
    So why would it be growing algae?? :confused: Not trying to sound like a smarta#$, I just am ignorant when it comes to this I guess! Act like I'm a 2nd grader then explain it!!;D