Why do I get good growth on some SPS and not others?

Discussion in 'SPS Corals' started by bluetang08, Aug 6, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. bluetang08

bluetang08 Purple Spiny Lobster

Some of my SPS seem to be taking off (well to me at least Im new at this) while others barely move, am I doing something wrong here

2. Click Here!

3. Dingo

Dingo Giant Squid

No, it is your spectrum from your bulbs... Totally depends on each and every single type of coral as they all require very slightly different wavelengths for photosynthesis!
    What corals aren't growing fast?

4. bluetang08

Just random SPS don't know the names of all but like an Orange Millepora and Orange Monti arent and then my Pocilliopora and Efflo are taking off so who knows. Im changing bulbs next month you think that should help?

5. Dingo

Dingo Giant Squid

if you get good bulbs then yes... but halides or t5?

milleporas are just really picky IMO and they only grow when they are happy :/

its odd that your monti isnt growing... most of them grow like weeds

6. bluetang08

Well the Monti grows just not as fast as I would like I guess, a have a pink formosa that grows fast and a purple that is losing color and not growing at all, and they are 6" (lateral) apart so go figure. As far as bulbs go Im planning on replacing my MH first prob mid Sept. I currently have the Mogul base Hamilton 250w 14k bulbs that came with the retrofit, I plan on replacing these with Mogul base Phoenix 250w 14k. Then around Nov I plan on replacing my two T5 bulbs (4' 54w) which are stock that came with the Nova with an Aquablue+ and a Fiji Pink. What do you think about that setup or do you have a better suggestion?

7. Dingo

Dingo Giant Squid

hahaha! that is actually probably exactly what i would suggest... you will get good results with that combo :)