white spot on clams mantel

Discussion in 'Clams' started by leighton1245, Sep 2, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. leighton1245

leighton1245 Horrid Stonefish

what would cause a white spot on the clams mantel? light bulbs are brand new (2 weeks old) 2x250w MH and T5HO.

PH 8.0
    S.G. 1.0255
    Alk 8-9 range
    Ca 360
    Nitrates 0ppm
    Phosphates 0ppm

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

All the views i can get of my clam.

2. Click Here!

3. Corailline

Corailline Super Moderator

Photo damage from the new bulbs would be my guess. Did you acclimate the tank to the new bulbs?

4. MRK82

MRK82 Astrea Snail

Is it not just pods, worms or eggs? as you can probably tell....I’m new to this. I get white spots all over my tank from time to time. They are fast moving so I think their pods some look like little translucent sacks with a white rim?
    Sorry to hijack your thread!!

5. leighton1245

My MH are only on for 4hrs right now next week they got to 5hrs a day. So it could be photo damage the clam was pretty bad cause of lack of light with my other fixture just not enough watts

6. leighton1245

there actually is some snail eggs on there (good eye :) ) but the mantel is the colorful part :) if you look at the first picture you can see where its all purplish blue then toward the back its pure white. Pods are translucent and you can see them sometimes normally at night every once in a while i get a big one floating around the tank then my sleeper head goby eats it lol

7. DocBattysReef

DocBattysReef Plankton