white dots on blue hippo tang

Discussion in 'ASAP' started by mazaj, Oct 4, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. mazaj

mazaj Feather Duster

im a noob so i donno if i should post this in noob section. i noticed white dots on the blue hippo tang, i was feeding him some nori on a clip and i did the mistake of keeping them overnight. till i read here the post about it. but i think the damage has been done and he is starting to hide more than usual and any movement in the house make him run back to his cave. anything i can do to make him recover?
    thanks

2. Click Here!

3. Corailline

Corailline Super Moderator

Last edited: Oct 4, 2010
  4. mazaj

mazaj Feather Duster

thanks ill start reading and ill take a pic tonight or tomorrow, i just have to sit still next to the aquarium till he goes out.

5. mazaj

mazaj Feather Duster

ok guys, i was thinking what to do concerning this problem. in fact the most valuable thing in my tank right now is the hippo tang and the 2 maroon clowns. the live rock that i got i donno how live they are, i got them with the hippo tang from craigslist. i have a brittle star and couple pf snails.
    i was thinking of moving the invertebrates and some sand and couple of rocks out to another tank and use my main as hospital (to do the hypo-salinity treatment) . i donno if i will leave any live rocks there probably i will get some dry rocks and add them after the treatment shows some success. i will probably seed the base rocks with some new live rocks.
    please let me know what you think, i want to have a clean start and i think it is the right time to do it since my tank has been running only for 2 months now.

6. Corailline

Sounds like an excellent plan. You are going to have to treat the display in the long run if you want the ich eradicated.