Which submersible pump?

Discussion in 'Filters, Pumps, etc..' started by roblox84, Sep 6, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. roblox84

roblox84 Bristle Worm

I'm looking for a submersible return pump for a 125g reef tank with two corner overflows and wanted some advice on which one should I purchase. I also don't need insane amounts of flow, the minimum will do. I also want to mention that I have the retun line split and it will be also pushing water through one or two phosban reactors.

So does anyone have reccomendations for a pump that will pump enough water through my tank and reactors without the need to be throttled? I really like the mag drives, and was thinking of getting the mag 12 but I have been using a mag 7 for a few years now and the ceramic shaft seems to attract a lot of kalkwasser deposits to the point were it seized up on me twice. Maybe pumps with a steel shaft would be more maintenace free? Thanks for any help.

2. Click Here!

3. Jake

Jake Sea Dragon

I just switched from a mag9.5 to a Rlss dc5000. It was a little less than twice the price, but it is a much nicer pump. It is quieter, controllable, uses less power, and can move more water if needed. It is a new product, so reliability is unknown.

Mag drives are reliable pumps, but if you can afford to spend the extra money, a really nice return pump is always a good place to spend it! Pumps like water blasters, Eheims, etc all have great reputations.

4. roblox84

roblox84 Bristle Worm

That Rlss dc5000 looks like a sweet little pump! It's only 50 bucks more then the mag 12 but 1320GPH instead of 1200 and 40 watts instead of 110. How is it working out for you so far? I may seriously consider picking one up.

5. AZDesertRat

AZDesertRat Giant Squid