What's going on?

Discussion in 'Algae' started by LOL, Oct 17, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. LOL

LOL Plankton

Hello,
    I just signed up to this site because I'm having trouble with my tank and I do not know what to do, so I'm hoping someone can help me!
    I'm new at this hobby and really want my tank looking nice!
    I have a 20 gallon tank that has been running for a month (used to be 10 gallon that was running for 2 months until I went bigger) with a Corallife Aqualight HO t5. As of tonight I only have a blue damsel, pulsing xenia, an sabae anemone (that looks like its gonna be a goner) and two zooanthids. This morning I used to have a clown and goby but sadly both of them did not make it. My rocks are covered by dark brown slime (i think) and my glass is constantly covered by green dust no matter how many times I clean it. I checked my water and the ammonia was the only one just a tad higher than where it should be. pH was good, temp was fine, nitrate and nitrite was ok as well as the phosphates.. Help!
    IMG_20121017_213620.jpg

IMG_20121017_213640.jpg

2. Click Here!

3. Smellsfishy1991

Smellsfishy1991 Astrea Snail

well first things first dont get too stressed these things happen to everyone. It looks like Dinoflagellates to me. i dont know much about it but im sure the good people on this site will fill you in on how it is caused and how to get ride of it.

4. Corailline

Corailline Super Moderator

Welcome to 3reef.

What is your water source?

Is that regular rock commonly used for SW tanks?

Looks like 1st off you need more flow in the tank, increase surface movement.

What type of filtration do you have?

How much are you feeding and what?

After increasing flow I would take a turkey baster and clean as much algae off as you can. Once it begins to settle I would do a water change with fresh SW made up of RO/DI only. I would repeat doing 5 gallon water changes every couple days.