What should I Order? (T5)

Discussion in 'T5 Aquarium Lighting' started by NU-2reef, Feb 24, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. NU-2reef

NU-2reef Montipora Digitata

I have a 20" nova extreme pro. 6bulb t5ho fixture. I need help choosing bulbs as im fairly new to my options. for a long while i only had 2 choices of bulb from current usa. Uvl has given me 4 more options.

030w T5-R VHO - UVL Actinic White 18" Buy Now $24.95 $21.95 030w T5-R VHO - UVL Aquasun 18" Buy Now $24.95 $21.95 030w T5-R VHO - UVL Indigo Sun 18" Buy Now $24.95 $21.95 030w T5-R VHO - UVL Super Actinic 18"

not sure what to go with. i was thinking 2 indigo sun and 4 super actinc. I dunno. all so confusing

nanotuners.com is where i will be buying.

Is there even a point of switching to uvl?

my current bulbs are current usa 2x12k and 4 actinic. seems so siilar to what im ordering.

HELP!!! im driving myself crazy:confused::confused:

2. Click Here!

3. 2in10

2in10 Super Moderator

Most definitely a good move UVL is far superior to Coralife. Your thought would be a very dark blue tank with great color and slow growth. I would suggest 3 indigo sun, 1 super actinic, 1 aqua sun and 1 actinic white.

4. MoJoe

MoJoe Dragon Wrasse

if you are open to other brands I would recommend ATI. I feel like I post this combo a lot but if I had a 6-bulb I'd do it with these bulbs in this order:

(front to back)
    ATI Blue +
    ATI AquaBlue Special
    ATI Purple Plus
    ATI Blue +
    ATI AquaBlue Special

I used to run a 5-bulb T5 fixture with similar bulb set-up, great spectrum, great PAR and great growth. UVL and Geissman are also very nice.

You can get them from http://www.reefgeek.com/lighting/Replacement_Bulbs/T5_Fluorescent/ATI/ if you go that route.

best of luck!

5. macon77

macon77 Fire Worm

A question...

The indigo sun is pinkish, the super actinic is purple, the actinic white is pinkish/white. I am not sure on the aqua sun.