What algae do I have?

Discussion in 'Algae' started by Slammed01, May 13, 2014.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. oldfishkeeper

    oldfishkeeper Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    7,660
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    You can run a single reactor but you can only put one type of media in it
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. Slammed01

    Slammed01 Spaghetti Worm

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    182
    Thank you, I may do that in the future =)
     
  4. Slammed01

    Slammed01 Spaghetti Worm

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    182
  5. Va Reef

    Va Reef Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    3,627
    Location:
    Chesapeake, Va
    Hannah PO4 checker is widely regarded as the best.
     
  6. Billme

    Billme Eyelash Blennie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,260
    Location:
    Bakersfield, Ca
    The tang really needs to eat every day, though it may be grazing on the algae in there. But you may be able to cut down on the quantity. Feeding is usually the greatest source of phosphates:
    http://www.advancedaquarist.com/2012/3/chemistry
     
  7. Slammed01

    Slammed01 Spaghetti Worm

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    182
    Thank you, may feed more mysis rinsed and less pellet. I think I'll order the Hanna as well. Algae stresses me out and don't want to pull all rock and srubb if I don't have to!
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. Slammed01

    Slammed01 Spaghetti Worm

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    182
    Well I think my sand is filled with crap, I gravel vac this everytime. I scooped q bunch out and think the deep 2-3" sandbed might be the cause. [​IMG]
     
  10. steska

    steska Plankton

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    A few issues come to mind. RO water from your LFS is not a good idea. Look at their tanks. If algae is present then that's going in your tank. Before you do anything invest in a RODI unit. Then get a 20 gallon long aquarium for a sump with a decent skimmer. Problems solved.
     
  11. Slammed01

    Slammed01 Spaghetti Worm

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    182
    I make my own topoff and salt using rodi. I don't think a 20 long will fit under my 46 bow. I have a uv sterilizer that I never used will that help?