Vortech/jebao vs tank silicone

Discussion in 'Filters, Pumps, etc..' started by nanomania, May 2, 2015.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. nanomania

nanomania Vagabond Butterfly

Well iv never seen any topics on this issue, so just thought of making a thread on this... as we know that these new wave generating pumps are awsm at generating massive flow in the tank. The back and forth movement of these pumps are like as if ur shaking the tank.. has anyone ever experienced a disaster like tank silicone just tares open creating a disaster? Especially on rimless tanks. Also if we go for larger tanks or smaller tanks, would a munimum 12mm glass be a minimum for this pumps? (This is not a thread for comparing the brand of pumps)

2. Click Here!

3. nanomania

4. Billme

Billme Eyelash Blennie

I've been using the gyre in a 120 for several months. No problems yet.

Mr. Bill likes this.
  5. Mr. Bill

Mr. Bill Native Floridian

I've only heard of a few rare cases of a pane blowing out due to flow, but that was with the older jet-stream powerheads, and where only one or two were used to create a massive amount of lateral current. I've never heard of a prop-type causing a problem; although they create more flow, it's also more dispersed. I believe one would be even less likely to break a tank seal when running intermittently, such as with a wavemaker.

6. Va Reef

Va Reef Giant Squid

Ecotech Marine states on the website that some tanks may not be able to withstand the standing wave most people use in short pulse mode. However I've yet to hear of any one having this problem. I have one on my 34g rimless and so far no problems.

7. nanomania