the official ECOBAK thread...

Discussion in 'Warner Marine' started by Jon Warner, Feb 3, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. Toallhisdoom

    Toallhisdoom Dragon Wrasse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2,196
    Thanks for all the help! Just ordered the 1000ml ecobak plus. Figured if I am gonna do it do it the best I can! Lol
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. Reef2Keep

    Reef2Keep Purple Spiny Lobster

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Location:
    Dana Point, CA
    Hey Jon,
    Replaced my reactor with a NextReef MR1. Flow and tumble have definitely improved dramatically....but I'm wondering if it's a bit too much now. I'm using a maxijet 1200 for the pump. Let me know what you think.

    MR1 Ecobak Reactor - YouTube

    Thanks!
     
  4. Jon Warner

    Jon Warner 3reef Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Southern California
    that looks pretty good! Don't give it any more flow of course but it's good the way it is.
     
  5. DSC reef

    DSC reef Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,814
    Location:
    Cocoa, Florida
    My second week into using ecobak. I've got it in a cheap Kent phosphate reactor with a maxi jet 1200 but it has a nice easy tumble.
     
  6. oldfishkeeper

    oldfishkeeper Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    7,660
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    let people know what you think DSC.
     
  7. junior279

    junior279 Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Belmont, Ohio
    I watched your video. Do you have your reactor connected directly to your skimmer.
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. DSC reef

    DSC reef Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,814
    Location:
    Cocoa, Florida
    I definitely will OFK. I'm more than impressed with the write ups by Mr. Warner.
     
  10. Toallhisdoom

    Toallhisdoom Dragon Wrasse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2,196
    Hey jon quick question! Ecobak plus. I know it says to run the output of reactor into skimmer. Well i have a 29 biocube. And the way the small reactor fits and is it is hard to have it run into my skimmer. Might remove the skimmer all together as it does not work very good. Will weekly water changes be enough? Or does there need to be a skimmer to constantly pull the waste out? 5gal a week on a 30gal system. 1/6th of water volume.
     
  11. Jon Warner

    Jon Warner 3reef Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Southern California
    Yes, you really need to be using a protein skimmer. With water changes only I'd expect to see diminished performance from the ecoBAK. Even the small original skimmer will help.
     
  12. Toallhisdoom

    Toallhisdoom Dragon Wrasse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2,196
    Alright I will leave it running then. Just a real pain. Impossible to get the thing dialed in right. But ill work on that haha thanks!