Tank Cycle

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by somethingfishy, Jul 27, 2004.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. somethingfishy

    somethingfishy Purple Spiny Lobster

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    Clinton Twp, Michigan
    Jason the LR that I am getting is fully cured and has been in a tank for 2 1/2 years. Will this still cause a cycle as you call it. Is this the same as adding a fish where the bacteria has to build up to accomidate the bio-load?
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. JohnO

    JohnO Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC,Victoria
    Jason,

    With 10ppm Nitrate, there must have been some sort of cycle, and if not, surely the fish would be dead by now?

    John
     
  4. Jason McKenzie

    Jason McKenzie Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,538
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,Canada
    somethingfishy I think you should be safe. Sorry I thought you were going to buy the rock on the WWW or uncured. You should be fine as long as the trip isn't 6-8 hours away (out of water)

    John
    Not entirely sure, Something has converted the Ammonia though to nitrate but it prob wasn't 6lbs of LR.
    with out an ammonia test who's to know if the ammonia has been converted. The nitrate could be a product of water, Salt, Sand.
    Lets find out tomorrow when somethingfishy tests for Ammonia, Same Bat time same Bat Place.

    J
     
  5. JohnO

    JohnO Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC,Victoria
    Jason,

    Well, I would think that the Nitrate reading must have come from Ammonia - Nitrite and was a part of the cycle. As you know it's the bacteria in the rock/sand that causes this cycle to occur. I haven't heard of Nitrate being a product of sand, salt or water, but that doesn't mean much I suppose :)

    In any case, even with an Ammonia test kit, if the reading is zero ( or near zero ) what does that prove. Back to the batcave I think :)

    John ;-)
     
  6. somethingfishy

    somethingfishy Purple Spiny Lobster

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    Clinton Twp, Michigan
    Well I bought a Ammonia test kit today and the level was at 0ppm. I have concluded that my tank is fully cycled. Thank you for all your help.
     
  7. JohnO

    JohnO Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC,Victoria
    Not yet mate :) Wait until the Nitrites drop to zero.

    John
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. somethingfishy

    somethingfishy Purple Spiny Lobster

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    Clinton Twp, Michigan
    ammonia & nitrites are at 0ppm Nitrates are at 10pmm
     
  10. Jason McKenzie

    Jason McKenzie Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,538
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,Canada
    I still don't think 6 lbs of LR is enough to have a biological filter large enough to sustaian, whats the count on fish in the tank now??? 9, 6 or 3. Either way you need more rock

    J
     
  11. JohnO

    JohnO Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC,Victoria
    [quote author=Jason McKenzie link=board=Water;num=1090982262;start=15#17 date=07/28/04 at 18:44:36] whats the count on fish in the tank now??? 9, 6 or 3.  Either way you need more rock

    J [/quote]


    Or none at all :-(

    John
     
  12. somethingfishy

    somethingfishy Purple Spiny Lobster

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    Clinton Twp, Michigan
    Sorry I havn't replied I have 6 fish now. 2 green chromis, 3 firefish gobies, and 1 damsel. I now have 26 lbs. of live rock. I had found a good deal on LR but it fell through so I went and bought 20 lbs. yesterday.