Tank crashed copper in Kent carbon UPDATE!!

Discussion in 'ASAP' started by steelhead, Mar 22, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. steelhead

    steelhead Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Eastlake,Ohio
    No but they will want pics of the container with date and a receipt from Al's. I called Big Al's since they have changed thier web and the on line record that was there is now gone, but they will email you a copy.
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. klaberjd

    klaberjd Fire Worm

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    Central, IL
    Yeah I had to send pics of the container and receipt but also have to send a sample of the carbon to be tested.
     
  4. steelhead

    steelhead Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Eastlake,Ohio
    I used the entire container on mine maybe that's why :confused:
     
  5. klaberjd

    klaberjd Fire Worm

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    Central, IL
    I did to but I have to dry some of mine that was in my filter and send that.
     
  6. inwall75

    inwall75 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    7,172
    Location:
    America
    I think this is going to be as expensive as the bad batches of Instant Ocean salt and the Stealth Heater recall.
     
  7. kreator

    kreator Flamingo Tongue

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Reynoldsburg, Ohio
    I changed my carbon last night as I do every couple weeks, I don't know the code or exp, but I purchased it yesterday. I have not lost anything since December and within 2 hours of changing my carbon every fish was dead. I am going to try and figure this out, but it's so sad to lose these fish I have enjoyed watching for a year, I think this is my last Salt water tank:(.
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. klaberjd

    klaberjd Fire Worm

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    Central, IL
    Hmmm.....when I added the bad carbon it killed all my corals but fish were fine other than they were breathing a bit heavier. I haven't heard of anyone losing fish with bad carbon but I could be wrong about that.
     
  10. Todd_Sails

    Todd_Sails Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,732
    Location:
    A Texan in S.E. Wisconsin
    Even though they said mine was not on the recall,

    I got rid of about a half of container of the Kent Reef Carbon.
    Mainly since I read on here that it really isn't the right kind of arbon anyways.

    I only use a basg of carbon in the water flow in my sump when I can 'smell' the sump getting slightly 'fishy smelling'. A day or two takes it away, then I take it out.

    IN other words, I don't use AC all the time anyways.
     
  11. mm2002

    mm2002 Feather Duster

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    Palm Beach Florida
    Ditch the carbon altogether. I switched over to Magnavore Pura Complete in my reactor a few months ago, and my water parameters have never been better. I notice a difference in the health of the livestock too. It's a really great product. I buy mine off ebay, but I'm sure it's widely available. I change it every two months although the label states a much longer life depending on your bio-load. And no, I don't work for them! LOL