Tangs with shredded fins and scars

Discussion in 'Fish Diseases' started by tangboy, Dec 14, 2005.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. tangboy

tangboy Plankton

My tangs (Sailfin, Purple and Clown) as well as a Blueface Angel suddenly after 2 years started to develop some very difiguring qualities. There fins are getting ragged and shredded. They do not fight, and there appears to be several holes in the head area. I have heard of HLE, but I have no experience dealing with it. I read that sometimes stray electrical currents cause this so I bought a ground probe recently. However, if anyone has any other ideas please let me know. Also are the disfiguring holes permanent or will they regenerate. Like I said I have these fish with no problems for over 2 years and now this. Very frustrating.

2. Click Here!

3. amcarrig

amcarrig Super Moderator

If it's HLLE, it will not heal. The fish can live with this disease but the scars won't go away. What have you been feeding the tangs?

4. billpa

billpa Plankton

Unfortunately they will be scarred. Stray voltage has been thought to caused by HLLE but nutritional deficiency has also been linked to it. I am also curious what you are feeding them.

Also...the grounding probe...its a good device to have IF its connect to a GFI outlet. If it is not, please take it out of your tank and get yourself a GFI outlet to wire in place of the old outlet or get one of those GFI all in one cords at home depot or lowes.

billpa

5. tangboy

tangboy Plankton

I feed them New Life Spectrum Marine Fish Pellets twice a day, with dried Nori seaweed strips every evening. I also feed San Fransisco Bay brand Saltwater Multipack every wednesday and saturday.

6. Jay

Jay Teardrop Maxima Clam