T5 Bulbs

Discussion in 'T5 Aquarium Lighting' started by Matt Rogers, Nov 16, 2002.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Matt Rogers

Matt Rogers Kingfish

2. Click Here!

3. Nukeproof

Nukeproof Plankton

8)
    I'm a new member and starting out a 125G long reef tank. Since I'm new at this, I've hired someone to start off my tank. I'm in the process of finding new lighting and he recommended the T5s setup on my 6 inch canopy. He told me that they are a lot brighter than power compact and will last a lot longer also. I have about 75lbs of Marshall Island live rock and another 75lbs of dead live rock with live sand. Only going to softies and LPS. Have you heard anything new about these lights?

4. Nukeproof

Nukeproof Plankton

5. Matt Rogers

Matt Rogers Kingfish

You know I wish I knew more. From the threads I have seen, some were happy, others didn't like the color, others thought they cost too much.

I haven't seen a consensus yet. They seem promising though.

[flash=468,60]http://www.3reef.com/fish/sitepics/threesteps3.swf[/flash]

Small world!
    I work in Jack London Square.
    Welcome to 3reef! Thanks for joining :)

6. Craig Manoukian

Craig Manoukian Giant Squid

[quote author=Nukeproof link=board=lighting;num=1037477572;start=0#1 date=06/25/03 at 10:35:21]
    I've hired someone to start off my tank.  I'm in the process of finding new lighting and he recommended the T5s setup on my 6 inch canopy.  He told me that they are a lot brighter than power compact and will last a lot longer also.  I have about 75lbs of Marshall Island live rock and another 75lbs of dead live rock with live sand.  Only going to softies and LPS. [/quote]

If you are still in the planning stages and would like us to reveiew any suggestions your reef contractor has come up with we would be more than happy to assist/review/critique.

For instance, what depth of aragonite or oolite sand are you planninmg to use?