Sump Question?

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by Oryo, Jan 21, 2016.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Oryo

Oryo Feather Duster

I have a 36 gallon corner bow front tank that I'm thinking of taking the plunge into corals. I've been doing FOWLR tanks for almost 20+ years but never had the nerve to step up to corals. I added new LED lights to start but thinking of building my own sump but have a couple of questions I'm hoping somebody can help me with.

I have a wet/dry filter on my tank now which still contains bio balls in them. I remember somebody here from 3Reef telling me to remove the bio balls little by little and replace it with rubble live rock... I've started to do that the past month but wondering if would it benefit me to build a sump for the tank or stick with what I have and continue to add live rock instead of the bio balls? It's easier for me to keep the wet/dry but I want to do what's best for the tank.

I have the wet/dry with skimmer/pumps at rear end of cabinet with bio balls at front of cabinet. The cabinet space under the tank is very narrow at about 11" wide and about 24"-30" deep. If I would put a sump, I can only fit a 10 gallon tank (Petsmart $10) under the cabinet. Would 10 gallons on sump be enough for the 36 gallon tank?

I've already looked at certain designs for sumps but it's confusing because everybody has different designs for their sumps? If 10 gallons is ok, what would somebody recommend me in design for sump?

I figure the reef guru's here would know what to do and steer me to the right direction... I figure if I can keep my wet/dry and do the live rock then it saves me the DIY project of building a sump for now. Then probably go back to Petsmart and buy a 20 Gallon long ($20 sale ends 1/31) tank and hold on to both tanks. Eventually maybe build the 20 gallon long tank with the 10 gallon sump for kids room or man cave... Ory

2. Click Here!

3. Todd_Sails