Stray current from return pump

Discussion in 'ASAP' started by Siddique, Dec 5, 2014.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. Todd_Sails

    Todd_Sails Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,732
    Location:
    A Texan in S.E. Wisconsin
    Thank you for your input.

    Windy, did you read this?
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. PghSteeler

    PghSteeler Tassled File Fish

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,956
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    I have to agree a grounding probe may pick up stray current to protect fish and corals INSIDE the tank and tranafer the current to whatever it is connected to as the ground. However electrify takes the path of least resistance. ALWAYS and if your hand is in the tank you will also be seen as a grounding probe. Weather or not you already have one in place. Our bodies are more conductive then almost anythig else and you will be electrocuted if you don't have a gfci outlet.
    I am not an electrician so am I am not sure how the newer ARC outlets aNd breakers play into this compared to gfci. I also do now know of any scientific research in regards to grounding probes being beneficial but can't really comment on them being good or bad.

    As for te guy found dead with his hand on the sump, wit or without. Grounding probe it wouldn't have mattered a gfci outlet would had saved his life.
     
  4. timkatz71

    timkatz71 Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Millstone Twp, NJ
    Your grounding is what removes the stray current, the probe is a better conductor than your hand so it will tank path of least resistance, sure you have heard that before. Take a walk over to your hot water heater in your home, guarantee there is a ground wire on it, most of the time there is more than one, look between the cold in and hot out, got one...? No, call your local township and ask if their inspector is blind, it is NATIONAL code. By this being grounded so is anywhere your water travels in the system (sinks, bath tub). Electoral panels are grounded, what this means if a wire were to fall off the terminal and touch the panel, and you were to touch the panel you would not be shocked/electrocuted, if you have on insulated gloves or shoes this is just added protection, for when wires are removed from the panel so you don't become the ground.
     
    DSC reef likes this.
  5. timkatz71

    timkatz71 Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Millstone Twp, NJ
    I have been shocked by water in my tank, years ago when I was using maxi jets and was very inexperienced, no probe. Went to lfs they sold me my fist probe... Put into tank, used maxi jets for almost another year before I could justify buying a replacement.
     
    DSC reef likes this.
  6. Windy

    Windy Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Not trying to be smart, but if you grounded and operated your tanks without a GFCI, how can you be trying to tell others what is safe. I won't post on this topic again, but thought some might want to wise up and take a safety precaution that might save a life. It can in no way increase your danger to run without one. If I have any other suggestions, I will withhold them.
     
  7. Todd_Sails

    Todd_Sails Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,732
    Location:
    A Texan in S.E. Wisconsin
    I'd rather you keep the conversation going Windy.

    I don't think I'm smarter than anyone else- just ask my wife!

    I only went without a GFCI a short time, years ago. I've been using one religiously for about 3 years on my system. I recently got one that also has an audible alarm when it trips, so if I don't notice my sump/RP off (as happened without incident recently), I'll be aware of the tripped breaker sooner.

    Did you re-read the post by the pool maintenance person regarding this?

    And again, I agree that there are both sides to the coin on this one.
    In fact, I had a thread on them here, or maybe on RC,
    where even electricians were on both sides of the fence and replied to the post.

    I'll stick with my DIY probe, you can go without.
    My tanks real happy, as I'm sure yours is too.

    Nothing personal.
     
    DSC reef likes this.
  8. Click Here!

  9. DSC reef

    DSC reef Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,814
    Location:
    Cocoa, Florida
    I agree with you todd. Windy, this is a forum to discuss things so don't take it so personal, we're all here to learn and too hear different opinions and options to better this awesome hobby. I personally will not run a tank without a probe, I feel it's better for my livestock and it doesn't mean I need to wise up or its wrong. I think there is great information in this thread and I would love to see it keep going. Thanks to all.
     
    timkatz71 likes this.
  10. Siddique

    Siddique Dragon Wrasse

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,163
    Location:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    A little update, I got a new return pump and I have that running with no issue.
    Before that however, I got the grounding probe, set it up and I still felt some voltage when I put my fingertip in the tank. I will have to get a volt meter and test it that way to see if there's any real difference.
    How is it that I still felt the electricity even though the probe was in place?
     
  11. DSC reef

    DSC reef Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,814
    Location:
    Cocoa, Florida
    Was it grounded for sure? I made that mistake once. Lol
     
  12. scajeo

    scajeo Sea Dragon

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    539
    Location:
    Port Orchard, WA.
    I was wondering if you had gotten your new RP and hoped it had fixed your problem. Any idea what might be causing the stray voltage now? What did the volt meter say?