Still considering...

Discussion in 'Say Hello!' started by marc1986, Aug 18, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. marc1986

marc1986 Skunk Shrimp

Hello all!!!

Been looking around online and noticed that the users on this site are very knowlegable ;D

Decided to join, as I've been contemplating starting a reef aquarium...

got a few questions though, so if you could possibly help it would be greatly appreciated.

First and foremost, I've been keeping freshwater and brackish water tanks for about ten years now. I have always wanted to start a reef aquarium...but given my age...I never had the funds to do so...I'm only 21 and now I suppose I do have the ability to purchase the supplies now ;D!!! Anyway, the only concern I have with reef-keeping is the weight of it all...literally...

I live in a manufactured home and wanted to know if anyone here has ever owned a tank in one? How big of a tank can the floors support the massive weight etc...???

Please write back...I'll be looking forward to it!!!

Thanks!

2. Click Here!

3. missionsix

missionsix Super Moderator Staff Member

As far as your question regarding load/sq. foot, it's going to vary. Age of the place, water damage in the area etc.. I've got a 55 in my place. I'd be nervous with a 100 gallon on my floor without going under the house and bracing the floor. Welcome to 3reef!

1 person likes this.
  4. marc1986

marc1986 Skunk Shrimp

Thanks!...I've been considering...that bigger would be better for a newbie...anywho...the home was built in 1997 and it seems pretty sturdy...I haven't had much luck about the structure online and the weight capacity, however I assume it will be okay.

You say you have a 55 gallon? Did you add any joists or anything under your home? Is it up against a wall (since the frame of the house seems to be stronger)?

How many pounds of LR do you have in it?

What year is your home if you don't mind me asking???