Shocking Discovery

Discussion in 'ASAP' started by civiccars2003, Aug 14, 2016.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. Swisswiss

    Swisswiss Caribbean Reef Squid

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,879
    Location:
    Geneva Switzerland
    civicc could you elabortate the "shock" feeling you felt...like did you feel it where you have (if any) small cuts on your hands? or did you get zapped regardless of "open cut" sensitivity..... might have to consider getting a ground probe as well...I sometimes feel a little stinging sensation near my cuts (hence why im asking if you felt the same thing) when i put my hand in my tank but iv always thought it was the natural charge of the saltwater ?
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. civiccars2003

    civiccars2003 Great Blue Whale

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,827
    Location:
    Akron Ohio
    You probably have some stray voltage then.

    When I touched my all thread on my lights, that's what hurt the most. I could touch it anywhere whether it be the all thread, the wire hangers, anything metal. Now when I got shocked with my hand in the water, I only felt it through small cuts on my hand. Wasn't quite as painful.

    As for the voltage readings...When we discovered the heater was the issue, when it was plugged in an in the water, the meter read about 120 volts. With the heater out, the meter read somewhere low at about 30 volts. I think that the ground probe will eliminate any and all voltage in my tank. A must have in all aquariums IMO and I should've done it a long time ago.
     
    Swisswiss and DSC reef like this.
  4. civiccars2003

    civiccars2003 Great Blue Whale

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,827
    Location:
    Akron Ohio
    Why in both your sump and display?
     
  5. Laverda

    Laverda Plankton

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    I do the same just in case the main pump should fail.
     
  6. DSC reef

    DSC reef Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,814
    Location:
    Cocoa, Florida
    I have 3 pumps in the sump and I got zapped so now I use 2 probes to be safe. The probe in the display didnt affect the sump.
     
  7. civiccars2003

    civiccars2003 Great Blue Whale

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,827
    Location:
    Akron Ohio
    Installed my ground probe in my sump last night. Per DSC, I am thinking of getting another one for my display.
     
    DSC reef likes this.
  8. Click Here!

  9. DSC reef

    DSC reef Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,814
    Location:
    Cocoa, Florida
    Definitely a good idea, those shocks aren't fun.
     
    Lovemyreef2015 likes this.
  10. chum

    chum Coral Banded Shrimp

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    375
    Location:
    west chester, pa
    thats two for me also !
     
    DSC reef likes this.
  11. civiccars2003

    civiccars2003 Great Blue Whale

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,827
    Location:
    Akron Ohio
    Is this true?...
    "Your water has continuity through your sump, so if you put it in your sump you're go for your system."
     
    DSC reef likes this.
  12. Swisswiss

    Swisswiss Caribbean Reef Squid

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,879
    Location:
    Geneva Switzerland
    by all means im learning from this too but...

    it does make sense, even if you were to use an overflow box (and the occasional air buildup). Our tanks remain a "closed circuit" system normally...so it should have little to no importance where you place the probe...or having multiple ones..

    if you use a filter sock however and the water flow in between the dt and the sump is occasionally interrupted then i would understand the use of multiple probes
     
    DSC reef likes this.