Shallow Reef Tank Lighting

Discussion in 'Reef Lighting' started by Drew, Aug 2, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Drew

Drew Plankton

I'm going to start a shallow reef tank and I plan on using a 30 or 40 gallon breeder tank, 12" and 16" respectively. I'm going to use a 4" sand bed now making the depth 8" or 12" respectively. Since I am just a college student I don't have a lot of money to spend on a MH light. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on what type of lighting to use (T5, PC, etc).

If anyone talks about watts per gallon I will punch you.

2. Click Here!

3. lunatik_69

lunatik_69 Giant Squid

You have given all info that is needed except one, what will be in this shallow tank?....lol

Luna

Last edited: Aug 2, 2009
  4. chuckdee

chuckdee Peppermint Shrimp

I think a good starting point is 4-6 watts per gallon.... Oops!!

lol, for real though, I would go with a T-5 fixture. There are many different lighting combinations (depending on what corals you are going to house) you can achieve with T-5's. Plus they make fixtures with 2 or 4 or 6 or 8 lights in many differents lenghts..

5. Drew

Drew Plankton

Sorry, I meant to include that in this tank I will have all types of coral including LPS and SPS coral and maybe a few small fish.

And what about of wattage for the lights?

6. =Jwin=

=Jwin= Tassled File Fish