Setting up Precision Marine KR620 Kalk reactor

Discussion in 'Filters, Pumps, etc..' started by zesty, Sep 10, 2014.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. zesty

    zesty Sailfin Tang

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,715
    Location:
    Greenfield, WI
    Thank you!
    I use a 10g aquarium as my ATO container. I generally put in 5 gallons a week. Now that winter just showed up this weekend and the furnace is running, the evap rate may change a bit.
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. Billme

    Billme Eyelash Blennie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,260
    Location:
    Bakersfield, Ca
    So, at least for now, you still have to add to of water?
     
  4. zesty

    zesty Sailfin Tang

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,715
    Location:
    Greenfield, WI
    Yes, all my TO water is hauled downstairs to upstairs by "brute force" currently.

    However, there was a hole "accidentally" drilled in the sump closet floor... One that is about a foot away from my water station in the basement. I do think at some point, I will be setting up something a bit more automated and a lot less brute force. oh will that be nice!
     
  5. MSmith

    MSmith Plankton

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    2
     
  6. MSmith

    MSmith Plankton

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Matt,

    Great post! I see you got that reactor a couple of years ago and am wondering how you feel about it now. I am considering getting one myself. You posted your PH was stable, but what about your Alk and Ca? Also, I understand the pump has a tenancy to fail due to the harshness of the kalk, but is easily replaced. What has you experience been over the past 2 years?

    Thanks,

    Mike