Rocketman's 370g 5'x5' Square Build

Discussion in 'Show Off Your Fish Tanks!' started by rocketmandb, Jun 17, 2013.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. Aaron.Herk

    Aaron.Herk Sea Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    531
    Location:
    Akron Ohio
    That's true, good old Pythagorean theorem.
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. rocketmandb

    rocketmandb Ocellaris Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,451
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    Yeah, it's going to be tough to give it up, but we do have some nice valley views where we're making the offer.

    We're making an offer because it's a lot bigger (lot size is 7x, house 1.5x) and it's in a very nice, quiet area with better services (read, less crime, better police).
     
  4. rocketmandb

    rocketmandb Ocellaris Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,451
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    Yeppers
     
  5. 1.0reef

    1.0reef Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3,615
    Location:
    Orinda, Bay Area, CA
    For the win!!!
    Where in the town are you going to be in? Cause there's a person right next to me moving out lol
     
  6. Powerman

    Powerman Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,460
    Location:
    Colorado
    I just have this perfect tank in my head that I want to build. We all have our visions, it's OK if they are different. I want a 5x5, 3x4, 3x6 maybe, but a gyre tank viewable from at least 3 sides. Cubes win though for me wanting a gyre. 3x3, 4x4, 5x5. 6x6 would be the lottery tank with 8 MP60s at opposing corners. :)

    Why, why , WHY do I keep coming back here???
     
  7. rocketmandb

    rocketmandb Ocellaris Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,451
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    No you are right on with the 5x5 tank. I've had a design in mind around a square tank for a while with a very cool pedestal stand... yes pedestal. But I'm not sure the space will support it and I really like rimless. You're making me reconsider, though.

    Either way, I'd have an extra hole in the center overflow to act as a conduit and I'd have flow pumps mounted on each side with their cords going down through the center - which rules out Vortechs since I don't have anywhere dry to mount the power side. I don't want to mount anything on the glass because I want totally clean sides.
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. evolved

    evolved Wrasse Freak

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    4,257
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    You already know the answer to that question.

    Tunze's on the center overflow box; done!
     
  10. N00ZE

    N00ZE Eyelash Blennie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Gulf Of Mexico
    :O lol
     
  11. ReefBruh

    ReefBruh Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,812
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    I had the dry chamber incorporated in the original tank that I had. I was going to do a 2" pvc pipe with about 8 power heads. Wish you the best and hope they accept the offer on your house. This is going to be an epic build.
     
  12. ravensix

    ravensix Fire Worm

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Jacksonville

    What about doing a closed loop drilled into the bottom of the tank?