PhosBan Reactor 150

Discussion in 'Product Review Archives' started by Matt Rogers, Mar 5, 2005.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. Matt Rogers

    Matt Rogers Kingfish Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    13,466
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    Got my PhosBan Reactor.. Looks like a great value at $40 (excluding pump). It comes with valves and 150g of PhosBan. All you need is some 1/2" diameter hose and a small powerhead rated at around 100gph. I am using a Maxi-Jet 400.

    Will post again when I set it up.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]


    matt
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. Jason McKenzie

    Jason McKenzie Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,538
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,Canada
    Hey Matt I think I'm too late but I would go with the MJ 600 because the 400s fail with any head pressure at all. the 600 will take being dialled down.

    J
     
  4. Jason McKenzie

    Jason McKenzie Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,538
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,Canada
    Sorry I was distracted by something shinny

    The reason I say MJ 600 is I have been switching up the media I put in the reactor. When I went to use Purigen I had to put it in a bag because of the gain size and this caused the pump to fail.
    When just running RowaPhose the MJ 400 worked great.

    J
     
  5. Scoffer

    Scoffer Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Hey, newbie style question: Is the coiled dentrifier thingy got anything to do with phosphates too? Or is it only for nitrates? I read one article, which may have been incorrect, said it would help lower phosphates too...

    I can make anything, (right, not), but didn't know if I should go one way or the other... I do keep nitrates at 20ppm and phosphates eem to stay at 1ppm..even using Phosban in the bag in my sump...


    Coiled N. vs Reactor...

    thanks all...

    Scoffer
     
  6. Gresham

    Gresham Great Blue Whale

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,825
    Location:
    SF/Monterey Bay Area, CA
    Nope, nothing to do with PO4 (phosphate).

    Phosban only removes phosphates.

    Both are completely different tasks.
     
  7. Matt Rogers

    Matt Rogers Kingfish Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    13,466
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    [quote author=Jason McKenzie link=board=Product;num=1110056282;start=0#2 date=03/05/05 at 19:51:41]Sorry I was distracted by something shinny

    The reason I say MJ 600 is I have been switching up the media I put in the reactor.  When I went to use Purigen I had to put it in a bag because of the gain size and this caused the pump to fail.
    When just running RowaPhose the MJ 400 worked great.

    J[/quote]

    Ah crap.. did you try phosban with the MJ 400 (are they the same size?) .. glad I kept the receipt on the pump.
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. Jason McKenzie

    Jason McKenzie Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,538
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,Canada
    I didn't use Phosban but I would assume that because it's made by the same company as the reactor the foam will stop any Phosban from exiting the reactor. I would give it a try. If you ever switch from using Phosban to carbon or something you may run into trouble with the 400 but until then you will prob be OK

    J
     
  10. Matt Rogers

    Matt Rogers Kingfish Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    13,466
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    Thanks J. :)
    I'll give it a go later.