Urgent pH and Ammonia

Discussion in 'ASAP' started by Uprising Rage, Jul 14, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. Marshall O

    Marshall O Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3,517
    Location:
    Central MA
    How much were you trying to increase the pH, and any chance you added too much of the product at once?
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. Biocube

    Biocube Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,499
    Location:
    Northern, IL
    Wait a second, I didn't see this but what are you using to test for Ammonia? I have a 1 year old API test kit and it says every time I have Ammonia. Even my RO/DI has .25ppm ammonia.


    I would make sure your test kit is accurate.
     
  4. Uprising Rage

    Uprising Rage Plankton

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    I tested my rodi water and it read 0ppm ammonia so it's not the test. The tank Went from 7.8 to a little less then 8.2 with a 15% water change. Is that considered a lot?

    My calcium is at 380ppm should I continue dosing or hold back till levels are where they should be?? Will calcium effect ammonia n ph?
     
  5. 2in10

    2in10 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,258
    Location:
    Sparks, NV
    Yes that is a big change on the pH. Ca should not affect ammonia and pH. I would think that when you added the water it shocked your tank with its high pH to get your tank up .4 points.
     
  6. Uprising Rage

    Uprising Rage Plankton

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    :( I feel like a moron.

    Hopefully everything evens out.

    My tank is so depressing at the moment.
     
  7. 2in10

    2in10 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,258
    Location:
    Sparks, NV
    We all do it at one time or another. Sometimes after many years in the hobby. Go slow and let it recover. BTW 7.8 pH is not bad if it stays steady.
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. Renee@LionfishLair

    Renee@LionfishLair 3reef Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,895
    Location:
    Coastal So. cal
    With ammonia in the tank, a 7.8 would have been more beneficial. Ammonia increases in toxicity as the pH increases.
     
  10. Kevin_E

    Kevin_E Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4,551
    Location:
    Florida
    I believe he said he had the ammonia spike after he adjusted the pH. Am I wrong?
     
  11. Uprising Rage

    Uprising Rage Plankton

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    BEFORE:
    [​IMG]

    AFTER: (both of these are seen in 1st pic)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Renee@LionfishLair

    Renee@LionfishLair 3reef Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,895
    Location:
    Coastal So. cal
    I was just saying don't work to keep it there and let it drift down if the ammonia is still there.

    But now that I'm not reading this on my phone, I can see he already knew about the pH/ammonia interaction. It won't hurt your fish that you went up that fast. It's not ideal, but they will get through it. Years ago, when I use to add a pH up product, my pH would go from 7.8 - 8.2 all the time.

    I would use more Amquel before you scar up the gills of your fish.