Osmolator Top-Off System by TUNZE

Discussion in 'Product Review Archives' started by Jason McKenzie, Aug 15, 2004.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. Jason McKenzie

    Jason McKenzie Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,538
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,Canada
    The pump, that in your case would be under the kitchen sink is attached to the controller. The controllers is also attached to the sensors.
    Now it wouldn't be a difficult mod to extend the power cable from the pump to the controller. This power cable is not hard wired to the connector it comes with a bare wire to tap set up. So it would appear that they have done this just for someone like yourself that needs more length. But I would check with Tunze (Maybe on RC) about the pumps ability to push water the distance you are talking about. I would have to say it's not likely.

    J
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. beamer

    beamer Sea Dragon

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Messages:
    541
    Location:
    Tyler, Texas
    Thanks Jason,, I will check with RC. My ro/di does have a booster pump with it. I wonder if that would make a difference? I'll let you know what I find out.

    Cindy
     
  4. pocketbulletz

    pocketbulletz Plankton

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA,Louisiana
    How big is the actual unit that goes inside the sump? I have been using a gravity feed float valve for awhile now, but had to remove the float from my sump when i got a new skimmer that had to go in the sump.

    Now I have a very tiny amount of room inside of my sump and no way of controlling my evap. Im interested to know how well these sensor type top offs are working and how much room theyrequire.
     
  5. beamer

    beamer Sea Dragon

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Messages:
    541
    Location:
    Tyler, Texas
    Jason, I posted my question on RC. I've read through several pages of posts just on osmolators. All of them speak of using a top off reservoir container so It may not work directly from my ro/di line. Maybe it would be better to use a Top Off container anyway, but it surely has been convenient the way I have been topping off.

    I'll let you know what Roger from Tunze has to say.

    Cindy
     
  6. Matt Rogers

    Matt Rogers Kingfish Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    13,466
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    @Cindy What you can do is set up a reservoir that is hooked up to a auto shut off switch that is connected to your RO.

    There is a pic at the bottom of this page:
    http://www.airwaterice.com/hardware.htm

    Your RO will keep the reservoir full. Inside the reservoir you can put a more powerful Tunze metering pump to pump the water to your sump.

    Here is the URL for the Universal Osmolator with more powerful pump (two different ones available):

    http://www.tunze.com/usa/en-gb/dept_306.html

    @Pocket - Check out the pic at the bottom of page 1 of this thread.
     
  7. beamer

    beamer Sea Dragon

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Messages:
    541
    Location:
    Tyler, Texas
    Thanks for the links Jason. The Ro/Di unit I have is the Dual/Home unit by air water and ice. I do have the presurized tank under the sink with ro for drinking and cooking. (??4 gl) I don't think a larger tank would fit under my sink. I still havent' heard back from Roger (Tunze) and with it being the weekend I may not until next week. With other questions he has been quick about getting back with me. (He's a good ole Texas boy! :D)

    In one of the other Tunze threads that I just found he commented that due to possible failure of the sensors that it wasn't designed to be hooked up directly to ro to avoid flooding the house and harming the tank. By having ex a 5 gl container if there is a faulty sensor then this would minimize any flooding.

    What do you think about this unit from Reef Relief. Its called Reef Relief's AATOC . It sounds like it can be directly hooked up to the ro/di.

    http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merc...roduct_Code=RR-AATOC&Category_Code=Dosers

    Cindy
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. fletch

    fletch Kole Tang

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,780
    Location:
    Upstate New York
    Well I love my Osmolator Universal from Tunze it has been working flawlessly so far. It is so nice to not have to constantly check and add water every day. :D
    And one of the best things about it is thanks to Matt and the 3REEF sponsors who participated in the raffle [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]and a little good luck on my part, It was FREE ;D 8) ......... John :D
     
  10. Matt Rogers

    Matt Rogers Kingfish Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    13,466
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    Glad to hear it John! That's great. [smiley=thumbs_up1.gif]
     
  11. saltydog

    saltydog Guest

    Have been using a tunze for over a year now and I'm so glad that I went with Tunze rather than the float valve. Use the seven gallon bucket that they make for the outfit and have had no problem. Keep a extra pump around just in case. Can get these items on Marine Depot.