ORA Joe the Coral care

Discussion in 'Coral' started by acemow, May 24, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. acemow

acemow Purple Spiny Lobster

Anyone have any tips on caring for ORA Joe the Coral? It's about a two inch frag, current location, 6 inches down into tank, near Koralia 3 PH, flow is pretty high, about 3 inches to the side of the end of a 150w 14k MH lamp, not directly under. Params stay consistent at temp 77-78, pH 8.3, ammon.0,nitrate 10ppm, trite 0 phos.0, 9-10 dkh, calc 440, SG 1.025, light cycle in DT 9 hours. I don't test for mag. currently at home, only at LFS, it's typically 1350 ish, I only add Seachem calcium and Seachem reef builder carbonate alkalinity supplement to keep levels above, when needed. Thanks! Ann Marie

2. Click Here!

3. shipbear

shipbear Bubble Tip Anemone

I'm still learning about saltwater, corals, etc.... SO

What is ORA Joe the Coral

Good Luck, Larry

it's a blue and green acropora that is aquacultured.

Thanks, sounds like a nice coral..

Last edited: May 24, 2009
  4. inwall75

inwall75 Giant Squid

Shipbear it's a blue and green acropora that is aquacultured.

As long as your nutrients are kept in check, it will do well in that scenario.

1 person likes this.
  5. sostoudt

sostoudt Giant Squid

not really, good water and patients are the only way i found to grow corals.

joe the coral is a type of acropora i think

6. Screwtape

Screwtape Tonozukai Fairy Wrasse

I'm not sure exactly what "near" the K3 means but make sure the powerhead is not blasting it directly from one side all the time. If there is any way to get more chaotic flow than sitting in front of a powerhead that will be better for it.

7. acemow

acemow Purple Spiny Lobster