Omg!!!!! Help!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Cichlids' started by Quartz92, Apr 4, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Quartz92

Quartz92 Plankton

I feed my cichlids today, and after about and hour they are all really fat! The tank is also a bit cloudy. I didn't feed them a lot and in all of my years of experiance haven't seen this im new to cichlids though. PLEASE HELP!

2. Click Here!

3. sostoudt

sostoudt Giant Squid

info from:http://cichlid.infocrux.com/Cichlid-Disease.html
    Constipation is indicated through swelling of the abdomen, lack of interest in food, and off-balance swimming. Feces may hang from the fish. The bets way to treat this is to abstain from feeding for 2 days and then giving it a varied diet consisting of both live and plant foods.

If the abdomen is swollen, and if there are red scales surrounding this area, it is probable that your cichlid is suffering from Dropsy. This could be due to bacteria, parasites, or cancer. Salt treatment is recommended to cure this disease.

Sluggishness, color loss, fraying of fins, bloating, inflammation of the skin, the fins, and the internal organs, bulging and cloudiness of the eyes, sores and abscesses, and breathing difficulties, are all symptoms of bacterial infections. Exophthalmia, or Pop-eye (bulging eyes), and ulcers are among some of the bacterial infections.

which one sounds like your fish?

also what are your ammonia nitrites nitrates

4. Quartz92

Quartz92 Plankton

The water parameters are perfect I checked this morning all I can remember is ammonia at 0! I can go check the rest soon. I think its constipation because they are all swimming normally and all look extreamly healthy. I just feed them this after noon and they all just sort of blew up!
    I just noticed now that there seems to be a lot of feces scatared around on the gravel.