New Reefer and Aiptasia

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by Korrigann, Apr 29, 2014.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Korrigann

Korrigann Plankton

Hey there everyone!

If you want to skip all my chattering, skip down to the TL : DR section.

I'm a new saltwater tanker/reefer whatever you want to call me. I have lots of experience in freshwater fish of all types, from goldfish and bettas to cichlids and oscars. However, saltwater has been a whole new beast for me, especially since I am doing less bargain hunting and piecing together as I go, and more "let's get this set up right the first time". Since I have the funding at the moment, I decided to go all-out and put the money in up front rather than having to go back and "fix" things later.

To start, let me give the specs I currently have.

Mechanical Specs:
    -- 29g Coralife Biocube with a retrofit 24 LED lighting system from rapidLED - I prefer natural light to more of a blue light
    -- inTank media basket: filter floss, purigen, chemipure elite
    -- inTank refugium basket: chaeto algae
    -- no skimmer, I've chosen to do weekly 5% water changes to help remove unwanted impurities and replenish trace elements since it's such a small tank. I use bIonic salt mix to achieve a more regulated mixture of trace elements each time.
    -- mp10w ecosmart pump, heater, the standard 'tank' stuff
    -- The biggie! Apex system, with ph, orp, and salinity probes to monitor. I know orp isn't a big deal, but it came with the package I got. I still check salinity with a refractometer, but I feel the probe provides a peace of mind for when I am not at home.
    -- One portable RO/DI unit