New Live Rock Pics, What Do You Think?

Discussion in 'Live Rock' started by crank2211, Jan 26, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. crank2211

crank2211 Purple Spiny Lobster

Hi guys,

I'm a complete newbie here, starting off my first 55 gallon reef. I've been lurking around reading all the stickies and articles I could find about starting a new tank and what I should expect. My first adventure in plumbing turned out pretty good. I am now in the curing/cycling process.

The size constraints of my apartment, and the tolerance of my better half towards "stuff" being left out is very limited. I'm forced to finish the curing process of some Live Rock in my tank. I've recently picked up 87 pounds of an unknown type of rock from a LFS. They are the only place within 75 miles that had any live rock for less than $7-$9 / lb and had as much as I was looking for ~75 lbs. Unfortunately the kid who weighed the stuff out was not able to tell me exactly what type I was purchasing, only that it was not Fiji. It was however, semi-cured as it was sitting in bins for almost a week. Which brings me to my first question. Does anybody have any ideas what kind of rock this is?

So far the curing process has gone very well. I've seen an ammonia and nitrite spike and the rock itself has lightened up in color, but also grew some stuff I'm not sure of. The first thing I did when I brought it home, was clean each piece off individually with a flathead and toothbrush of obvious black and dead debris, and overall decent scrub down. It has since been sitting in the tank with 3 MJ1200's, Remora and heater (5 days now) with the lights off.

At this point, I'm not sure if I should pull it out again and remove anything that might be detrimental to the health of my soon to be system, or do I just let it sit.