New, having brown algea +invert problem

Discussion in 'Algae' started by hahulahoop, Mar 14, 2004.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. hahulahoop

hahulahoop Plankton

Hi everyone-
    I am new to this webpage, and to saltwater. I have a small (46 gallon) reef aquarium, and have 2 questions. 1st off, I cannot keep anenomies alive for the life of me. My water quality is very good, and I have the great lighting, however I have gone through 2 anenomies and both lived about 2 weeks. Anyone have tips on how to keep these or what to look for? Secondly, All of the sudden I have brown algea everywhere! The tank has been set up about 1 year, and all of the sudden, there has been an explosion of brown algea. It covers my live rock, and I think is killing off little inverts that came on the live rock because I can no longer see them under all the algea. Why would it explode all of the sudden? How do I get it undercontrol? Also, I do have some snails, but they cannot keep up with the growth.

Thanks,
    Heather

2. Click Here!

3. Land_Fish

Land_Fish Guest

Re: New, having brown algae +invert problem

Do you use tap water?
    When was the last water change and how much water did you change?
    Exactly what lights are being used?
    What are your test reading? Cal, Alk, pH, Phosphates, Nitrates.
    Sorry to hear about the lose of the anemones.

The death of the anemones may have released some toxins into the tank. Have you used anything to try and get rid of the algae?

4. Jason McKenzie

Jason McKenzie Super Moderator

Brown Algae is a nature occurring phenomenon to new tanks. At a year I don't think this is the case.
    Have you change lights recently, New bulbs or different photo period?
    What are your feeding habits? could you be over feeding.
    Sorry for all the questions but the more we know the better.
    Could you list all the hardware you use and your feeding, and water change schedule?

Thanks
    J