My entire aquarium was whiped out..now what?

Discussion in 'Fish Diseases' started by Selunca, May 26, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Selunca

Selunca Plankton

Hey guys, I'm a bit of a newbie to aquariums.

I have a 16 gallon, bow front, fresh water aquarium. I got it as a kit from Petsmart (Probably a bad idea).

I got three pladdies (sp?) as my first fish, from my mother whom owns a 38 gallon tank. They did great for the month, so I introduced two gorami, and two black snails. The snails died within a week, their shells were empty, I'm not sure why.

So after two more weeks I got a pleco to try and take care of some of the alge growth. After I got the alge eater, the same night I noticed that one of my pladdies had small white spots all over his body. I assumed it was Ick so the next day I bought some Ick Treatment, but that evening when I went to dose the tank, two of my pladdies had died.

So I removed the dead and noticed one of my gorami had the same spots. So I dosed the tank as planned (One tablet). The next day my Pleco and the last pladdie had died. I read the instructions on the ick treatment, and it said to remove 10% of the water from the tank, so I did, and then added the next dose, like the instructions said. I did that on monday, tuesday, and wenesday of last week. The fish kept dieing though, and I lost my last one this morning (26th)

So within about 10 days my tank was whiped out by these white spots. The spots didn't stay small either, when I went to bed they would be small white spots, but by morning they were full envelopeing the fish, the fish were covered in almost a white cloud.

What happend to my tank? What do I do now? How can I start a new aquarium and not lose all of my fishies? Did I do something wrong?

Thank you for your help. I really want to be a good aquarium owner, but I'm afraid that I've done something wrong. :(

2. Click Here!

3. jakeh24