my 20 live sump

Discussion in 'Refugium' started by helwidcha, Aug 30, 2013.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. helwidcha

helwidcha Flamingo Tongue

ok guys I just wanted to share some pics of my cheep simple live sump set up. this is my first time trying this and its been 16 years since I have been away from the hobbie..so love to hear what yall think. oh and im just cycling it first until I get money to start up my 55 ..its helping me pass the time lol

Attached Files:

2. Click Here!

3. helwidcha

here's more pics now with diatoms blooming :( and ammonia still around 4.0 the very top rock has lost of little green macro algae growing. hope to keep it alive!

Attached Files:

Last edited: Sep 1, 2013
  4. Slassco

Slassco Flamingo Tongue

Welcome back to the hobby and to 3reef. Keep us posted on your progress. Looks like your off to a good start.

Any plans for the DT once you get one?

5. helwidcha

ty slassco.. DT ? dominant tank? lol sorry I have it already. its a 55 gall long. yeah I want to cut the glass two 1'' drains from a overflow box to the sump and maybe a 600 gph return pump..the tank will have a good 5" sand bed and at lest 50 lbs dry rock and maybe 40 lbs decor rock. lighting..still up in the air..i really want to be able to raise all kinds of coral. ...its going to be months before I bet the extra money though.

6. Marshall O

Marshall O Giant Squid

FYI, most 55's have tempered glass on every panel, and so you can't drill them. The tank should have a sticker on the bottom saying whether it is just the bottom or all sides.

7. Slassco

Slassco Flamingo Tongue

+1 on drilling. Would hate to see you have a setback just getting back into the hobby. Also check the forums or google DBS (deep sand beds) before settling on a final design. A lot of mixed thoughts on going deep in your DT (display or main tank :) ). You can use your sump as a refuge where a deep sand bed is utilized.