Major hair algae starting

Discussion in 'T5 Aquarium Lighting' started by Midnight_Madman, Jul 1, 2015.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. Midnight_Madman

    Midnight_Madman Montipora Digitata

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Mount Pleasant, SC
    I switched back from MH to my T5 fixture. I have 4 brand new Giuesman bulbs and I am getting major hair algae taking over all my rock!
    Anyone know what I could do, or why its happening?
    My temp is a bit high lately around 83-84 could this and the brighter light be the cause?
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. mdbostwick

    mdbostwick Vlamingii Tang

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,899
    Location:
    Canton OH
    What are your Nitrate and Phosphate levels?

    What do you have for nutrient export? Macroalgae, skimmer, turf scrubber, biopellets?

    What is your bioload and your tank size and sump if you have one?
     
  4. Midnight_Madman

    Midnight_Madman Montipora Digitata

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Mount Pleasant, SC
    Big skimmer pulling tons of skimmate out. 90 gallon.. + sump 100lbs LR and
    6" niger trigger, 4" yellow tank, 2 percula clowns, 2 green chromis.
    As of last week levels were are good. Lights are on about 7 hours
     
  5. mdbostwick

    mdbostwick Vlamingii Tang

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,899
    Location:
    Canton OH
    Are the nitrates and phosphates detectable?
     
  6. Midnight_Madman

    Midnight_Madman Montipora Digitata

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Mount Pleasant, SC
    Phosphates 0
    Nitrate - 20
     
  7. DSC reef

    DSC reef Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,816
    Location:
    Cocoa, Florida
    The algae is soaking up the phosphate. I wouldn't be concerned with numbers at this point because they won't be accurate. What color spectrum are your lights? I would cut your lighting schedule in half or raise the fixture some. Not sure what coral you have so just make sure they get enough light. You could also manually scrub the rock in buckets of saltwater. I say light is a big part of the problem.
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. Corailline

    Corailline Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    19,652
    Location:
    It is a dry heat, yeah right !
    Phosban or Phosgard are good products, a Sea Urchins helped significantly when my tank had an outbreak, Chitions and Abalone make work of GHA as well.

    Curious what color/name of bulbs are you using?
     
    DSC reef likes this.
  10. mdbostwick

    mdbostwick Vlamingii Tang

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,899
    Location:
    Canton OH
    Only curious on the numbers for how much nutrients are being produced. With the phosphate undetectable it seems more manageable than if the phosphate is already at a detectable level. I know they are both present since there is algae growing.

    How much are you feeding as well and how much. I am sure the trigger is the main producer of excess nutrients.

    I would second Corailline's suggestions for control.
     
    DSC reef likes this.
  11. Midnight_Madman

    Midnight_Madman Montipora Digitata

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Mount Pleasant, SC
    Thanks. Yes the trigger has an appetite!
    I have 4 bulbs ranging from 12k - pure actinic.
    I don;t have too much as far as a clean up crew, but ordered a crew today
     
  12. mdbostwick

    mdbostwick Vlamingii Tang

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,899
    Location:
    Canton OH
    Keep in mind adding a CUC will also add to your bioload, so more is not always better.