looking to start up a salt water tank

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by thetman36, Jan 1, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. thetman36

thetman36 Astrea Snail

Hi I am new to 3reef and the salt water hobby. I have had fresh water my whole life. Now want to take the hobby to a new level. I live down the road from a dealer called www.beitalsaquariums.com/. The owner came to my home to see the space where i would be setting up my tank. He specialize in custom glass tanks. after going back and forth with him about reef or just fish i have decided to start out with just fish but want to be able to move to reef when i am ready. He suggested getting a pre manufactured 120 gal for the space. He did not think i needed a custom built tank. not sure what the best tank manufacturer is. I wanted to know if anyone had thoughts about where to look to get my setup. I am not sure if his prices are reasonable or not. I told him my budget was about $3,000. He said he could get me up and running including installation. system would include tank, stand, lights pump wet dry filter protein skimmer uv filter, heater and timers, sand and live rock to help cycle tank. I guess what i need to know is if the price is reasonable and if there is a better option to get a complete set up going. I have learned over the years there is a big difference in hardware and would like some input in the best products on the market. This tank will be opposite my home movie theater so noise is an issue. I want to make sure I have top of the line stuff so i will not have to upgrade. any and all help would be appreciated. the length of the space is 69" and the height limit is just under 78" Not sure if the 120 gal is big enough.

2. Click Here!

3. 2in10

2in10 Super Moderator