lionfish question

Discussion in 'Lionfish Lair' started by chum, Mar 24, 2013.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. chum

chum Coral Banded Shrimp

hello everyone, i am fairly new to this forum. i bought a 7" lionfish last may from a local fish store. they had feed him goldfish for a few years. i have been able to feed him frozen silversides since i got him. he seems to be around 8" now. i do feed him one per day. i am no expert on this species and i bought him because he was in a small tank and i felt bad for him. am i feeding him correctly ? thanks for any input.

2. Click Here!

3. RoloSaez

RoloSaez Millepora

I fed mine a dozen feeder fish twice a week he did really well was growing like a weed then apparently got a bad batch. I fed him he was fine three days later he was bones in the sand. I could never get him to eat frozen food. As long as his stomach looks full he is fine. Keep doing what your doing.

4. DevinH

DevinH Montipora Capricornis

*claps*

*lays down ghost shrimp*

*dances*

Arise lionfish lair, arise.

5. MrFolgers

MrFolgers Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

Yea lionfish are the biggest pigs. As soon as I open my lid my lionfish stays face up waiting for anything to eat.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1364164700.188933.jpg

6. chum

chum Coral Banded Shrimp

thanks for all the input !

7. Renee@LionfishLair

Renee@LionfishLair 3reef Sponsor

Hi there! Can you post a picture of him? What brand of Silversides have you been feeding him? Can you get fresh seafood from your local market?

Predators are use to gorging and then sitting back and digesting their food. Every day feeding is not beneficial and really isn't recommended, especially as they get older.

We feed everything that isn't a juvie on Monday, Wednesday and Friday. We feed until their bellies look nice and full or they stop eating. Some never stop, so if the belly is quite bulgy, stop.