kalkwasser with vinegar????

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by cosmo, Aug 2, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. cosmo

cosmo Giant Squid

OK, after keeping param's steady with frequent WCs, I've decided to give up and start dosing.

With the new tank, mangroves, and clams growing, heavier feeding due to the new wrasse and heavy bioload, the WCs are needing to be more frequent than I want, so my plan is to start slow and get a JBJ ATO(What pump shoul I get with it, just a aqualifter? and start topping off with kalkwasser.

I was reading this article about using vinegar to mix it up and then dilute it. The plan sounds pretty logical to me, but I'm still learning the chemistry aspects of these things.

I'm also looking at getting a dosing pump for magnesium.

Tear my plan up please, and thanks as usual;)

2. Click Here!

3. ingtar_shinowa

ingtar_shinowa Giant Squid

kalkwasser with vinegar???? RECIPE FOR DISASTER. I think you would be fine with regular Kalk water. Adding the vinegar allows the kalk to super saturate. I would do BRS 2 part if I were you. More controllable, more customization (ie not based of evaporation) and less likely to have a catastrophic over dose.

As for magnesium even with a triple doser I wasn't planning of dosing it just because its not used in very large amounts

1 person likes this.
  4. Dingo

Dingo Giant Squid

Unless you have a large demand I would not expect the kalkwasser to be depleted. In actuality I would expect a lot of it to precipitate out. Now if your pairing this with vinegar I would expect this to be even more dramatic. The only time I would recommend increasing solubility with an acid would be if you have a very very high demand... Like I'm talking fully stocked sps growing out of the water.

1 person likes this.
  5. Biocube

Biocube Giant Squid