Just ordered a unit!

Discussion in 'SpectraPure' started by nightster, Feb 5, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. nightster

    nightster Pajama Cardinal

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,419
    Location:
    Rosenberg, TX
    Ill look into a TDS meter for sure, I wish I would have bought one of these before I started my tank. It would have paid for itself by now with all the distilled I've bought...
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. Clonefarmer

    Clonefarmer Millepora

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    Springfield, MA
    Doesn't the Spectrapure unit have one on it? I thought they came with a dual inline TDS meter.
     
  4. nightster

    nightster Pajama Cardinal

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,419
    Location:
    Rosenberg, TX
    Ok well finally got it in last Friday and mounted it in my garage. I have a question, is this thing basically plug and play? Can I just attach a water hose to the correct end and put the drain tube into my water tank and presto I have ro/di?
     
  5. 2in10

    2in10 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,258
    Location:
    Sparks, NV
    Not quite, you will want to connect to your water source and run it for a 20 to 30 minutes to check for leaks and to let the antibacterial solution get out of the membrane. You may need to install the cartridges and membrane also.
     
  6. nightster

    nightster Pajama Cardinal

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,419
    Location:
    Rosenberg, TX
    Well I hope I don't need to install the cartridges and membrane, I didn't get anything besides the unit.
     
  7. civiccars2003

    civiccars2003 Great Blue Whale

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,827
    Location:
    Akron Ohio
    Cool. Congrats. I just purchased this same unit as well. Waiting for it to be shipped.
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. SpectraPure

    SpectraPure 3reef Sponsor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Run it for 20 minutes, then do the Flow Restrictor Adjustment procedure.

    Then you're good to go.

    Scott
    SpectraPure, Inc.
     
  10. nightster

    nightster Pajama Cardinal

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,419
    Location:
    Rosenberg, TX
    And that procedure is outlined in the pamphlet I received with the unit?
     
  11. MoJoe

    MoJoe Dragon Wrasse

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Location:
    CT
    Yes, in the manual it details how to trim the flow restrictor (if you aren't getting the proper ratio) to get the proper waste to pure ratio. (pages 8-11)
    http://www.spectrapure.com/manuals/PRINTER_FRIENDLY/MPDI.pdf

    I'm pretty sure you want to get a 4 to 1 ratio for optimal use. You will just use a measuring cup and as the unit runs you will time it with the waste line (yellow) and then the pure line (blue) to calculate it.

    Also keep track of the 6-month mark to change out your sediment filter and carbon block. The DI you'll want to change when you see any TDS showing up in the pure line, it's all in the manual too.

    I would recommend a handheld TDS meter, the in-line ones are good, but I really love the HM TDS-3 handheld. You can find it on eBay and lots of other places, it's affordable and easy to use: TDS-3 Handheld Meter With Carrying Case - HM Digital
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. pink4miss

    pink4miss Panda Puffer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,115
    Location:
    Bucks County, Pa
    congrats. it will make your life easier. good that you got a higher gph unit. i bought a unit thats 50 gph and its so slow i wish i had bought a unit that makes the water faster