Is this good lighting? (75g)

Discussion in 'Reef Lighting' started by slo_rex, Dec 5, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. slo_rex

slo_rex Plankton

Hey 3reefers,

I'm new to reefing but have done lots and lots of research and reading. I just picked up my 75g tank with a sump 2 pumps and a stand. The previous owner was using it as a frag tank. Well anyways, I'm looking for a lighting set up and can't afford to spend 500+ on a set up :/

I have come across this set up on ebay.

48" inch 4 ft 6pc HO T5 Aquarium Reef Lights 324W w Build in Timer | eBay

What do you think of it? Worth it? Any input is acceptable. I normally don't buy "ebay" brand thing but this time around Im tempted.

Thank you!

2. Click Here!

3. m2434

m2434 Giant Squid

Wow, I would be really leery of no-name aquarium products on ebay. The price too just sounds pretty unbelievable. I mean, what people usually consider "cheap" "budget" 48" 6-bulb T-5s, go for well over twice that.

4. nightster

nightster Pajama Cardinal

I'd probably leave that alone, remember you get what you pay for...

5. slo_rex

slo_rex Plankton

I'm iffy on it myself...ill give it a shot though. If its not what I expected ill ship it back.

6. Daniel072

Daniel072 Giant Squid

You may want to read their return policy. LOL "Might be able to ship it back within 7 days" LOL @ 30% restocking fee.

7. slo_rex

slo_rex Plankton

Didn't even look at that!! Haven't ordered the yet... Might actually save up and go with something brand name..

Any recommendations? My tank will start off as a fowlr an as I get more experience ill start on the reef build.

8. Click Here!

9. leigh

leigh Flamingo Tongue

Maybe try getting one of the reefbreeders fixtures. If your going Fowlr you could use one to start then add another when deciding on reef and as you save money. This way you wont have to replace bulbs.