Is My Water OK? I killed 3 fish during acclamation.

Discussion in 'ASAP' started by schabiazabi, Mar 11, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. schabiazabi

schabiazabi Astrea Snail

I'm new to this hobby, and I'm having tons of problems, which I believe are due to my water being poisoned.

Long story short: In the beginning I did not have a RODI system, so I used tab water with Amquel Plus. I bought a Queen Angel and set her up using that very water. The fish is still alive. Since then, I bought a RODI system and purchased 3 fish from 2 different sources. They all died after acclamation. From 5 to 10 hours after.

During the last acclamation I wanted to perform a fresh water dip, but I could not adjust the PH up using Baking Soda (as suggested in the sticky post). Someone suggested my API test kit is wrong. This made me purchase a digital tester for multiple parameters. After testing PH in my tap water and my RODI water I found something very weird (at least to me, maybe it is normal). My RODI PH is much lower than my tab water PH. Here are the results of my water:

PH – Tab Water – 7.5
    PH – RODI Water – 6.5 (or it changes around that range)

TDS – Tab Water – 260
    TDS – RODI Water – 0

CON – Tab Water – 378
    CON – RODI Water – 16

SAL – Tab Water – 190 ppm
    SAL – RODI Water – 0 ppm

Ammonia 0
    Nitrite 0

Is there a way to figure out if my water is correct based on the above parameters? The drop in PH and the dead fish worry me.
    Is my RODI doing something to the water. I was suppose to flush it for 2 hours, which I did?

Also, if the above data is not enough to render a valid diagnosis, can you guys recommend a place where I can send my water for this kind of (fish related) testing.

More Data

0. Fish: Yellow Tang, Threadfin Butterfly, Majestic Angel
    1. Temp is 78F
    2. Drip Acclaim (almost 4 hours this time)