Installing my CA reactor... good bye 2part!

Discussion in 'Filters, Pumps, etc..' started by Thatgrimguy, Jun 15, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. 2in10

    2in10 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,258
    Location:
    Sparks, NV
    Congrats, having solutions of Ca and Alk is good since they don't get used in a perfect ration in most if not all systems. Makes for very easy corrections.
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. Thatgrimguy

    Thatgrimguy Flying Squid

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3,025
    Location:
    North Biloxi, MS
    I am glad I decided to just rearrange and keep my dosing bottles and dosing equipment hooked up. I can easily tell my apex to run cal or alk at any time to realign my numbers. I still have a TON of leftover 2 part anyhow.. probably half a 5g dry bucket of each lol.


    I know it must be my imagination... but I swear it seems like I can actually see stuff growing... I'm getting so much growth right now it's unreal. Anything that has been in my tank for longer than a couple months is going nuts. (it seems to take me about 90 days before new adds are ready to grow.. but once they do... THEY DO!)
     
  4. threephase37

    threephase37 Fire Worm

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    knoxville tn
    congrats grim !!!!!!!!!!! I'm fixing to go through the start up battle myself as I'm letting it run overnight without co2.... introducing co2 in the morning. The ml/min drip wasnt going to work for me so I converted it into ounces, something I can measure and make sense of. I'll check back on this thread to see if you finally got yours dialed in and can enjoy the automation !!!!
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. Thatgrimguy

    Thatgrimguy Flying Squid

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3,025
    Location:
    North Biloxi, MS
    The alk has slipped over the last 2 days. Like 2 dkh. So I am dropping the ph by .1 on both sides and slowing the effluent a touch.
     
  6. Vinnyboombatz

    Vinnyboombatz Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6,344
    Location:
    Dunnellon, Florida
    Good luck Grim!!8)
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. Thatgrimguy

    Thatgrimguy Flying Squid

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3,025
    Location:
    North Biloxi, MS
    I figured out my issue with my alk... The peristaltic pump is going into error mode and stopping dosing... It's happened a few times. I have an email into the company about how to solve the issue. In the meantime I'm going to watch closely and just use my 2 part to compensate.

    Really happy I kept all my dosing equipment readily available and hooked up.
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. Thatgrimguy

    Thatgrimguy Flying Squid

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3,025
    Location:
    North Biloxi, MS
    Update: My peristaltic pump is broken. Something is wrong with the pump it's self. the computer and head are fine and I have located a replacement on ebay. Until then my reactor is back down... I also have a ton of air bubbles in the Geo 818 that I guess is from the recirculating pump.


    Who ever says this is easier than dosing pumps is crazy....
     
  10. Thatgrimguy

    Thatgrimguy Flying Squid

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3,025
    Location:
    North Biloxi, MS
    I got the replacement pump in and am testing now! I hope to have my reactor back online by tonight!
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2012
  11. Thatgrimguy

    Thatgrimguy Flying Squid

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3,025
    Location:
    North Biloxi, MS
    Ok, new pump is working great and the unit is officially back online! Hopefully I can get it stable and finally enjoy some stability.
     
  12. Biocube

    Biocube Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,499
    Location:
    Northern, IL
    Congrats!! Hope everything works going forward. :)