Identify this Please.

Discussion in 'Coral' started by jnbahwkins, Nov 8, 2004.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. jnbahwkins

jnbahwkins Fire Worm

I think this is some sort of coral,I just got it on some live rock.I am a newbie so i don't know what alot of things are.

Attached Files:

2. Click Here!

3. jnbahwkins

jnbahwkins Fire Worm

Wow,I cant belive nobody knows :'(

4. jnbahwkins

jnbahwkins Fire Worm

5. Matt Rogers

Matt Rogers Kingfish

John I'm pretty sure I've seen this before, but I can't think of it right now... anyone help out? (bump)

6. OoNickoC

OoNickoC Bubble Tip Anemone

Looks like a dying/dead encrusting coral. if it is on the botoom of the rock and is able to be scrapoed off without too much effort i would say it is a sponge. You can tell which side was facing up in the ocean by the growth of coralline algae. So if its on top and bone like (hard to scrape off) it is most likley an encrustng coral, if its on the bottom, and is soft, its probably a sponge.

7. Craig Manoukian

Craig Manoukian Giant Squid

Can you get a clearer macro picture of that?

8. Click Here!

9. jnbahwkins

jnbahwkins Fire Worm

Sorry cant get a better macro of it.I took several shots of it and that was the best one.I could take it out of the tank and take a shot but really don't want to do that.I am hoping it gets healthy.none of its color has receded since i got it so i guess that is a plus.it is a coral i am pretty sure since i have found others like it completely dead and they have pure white skeletons left behind.
    I was all ready on track of it being a encrusting coral
    but still not sure.