I need beginner algae info

Discussion in 'Algae' started by Decembermouse, Jun 2, 2006.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Decembermouse

Decembermouse Astrea Snail

I just joined 3reef. I'm in charge of 2 saltwater aquaria here at Hope College in Holland, MI. I'm a student animal care worker, full time this summer. I plan to build a refugium with three consecutive sections which will all have different organisms that will filter the water and rid it of nitrates, nitrites, ammonia, and are there some other compounds I should worry about too?

So I would really appreciate some advice. I have a 65 and a 30 gallon tank, both of which will feed into the same refugium. Don't worry, I've drawn it up and it will work. But I need to know what kinds of algae are most hardy, and are the best at removing harmful compounds.

Are there organisms besides algae that can help do this too?

Also, one of the sections of the refugium I would like to put shrimp, algae, and maybe snails in. Is there a good shrimp/algae combination? I hear that some shrimp like to eat a certain algae and will hang out and breed on/around it, too. But I would like the algae not to just be depleted... it's gotta grow too.

If I can pull it off, with YOUR help, I would love to see this project come to fruition. Advice please!

2. Click Here!

3. coral reefer

coral reefer Giant Squid

I would go with Chaetomorph as it is better for your tank. Caulerpa is ok though most organism if the eat too much will die due to its toxicity. You also have to use reverse lighting or 24/7 lighting in your refugium so that the caulerpa doesn't go sexual and foul your tank by depleting your tank of oxygen.
    Halimeda is another nice plant that requires calcium and moderate lighting but makes a wonderful addition to your tank. Sea grasses/mangrove pods and shaving brushes are other good additions to your tanks.

4. Decembermouse

Decembermouse Astrea Snail