How to make a sump

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by JPfish, Oct 1, 2002.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. Dador

    Dador Coral Banded Shrimp

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    364
    Location:
    Dayton, Ohio
    Heater sump question?

    I'm new to this. I've heard that you can place your heater in the sump. Is that correct? If so what size heater do you need? The sumps a lot smaller than the tank. I'm guessing you loose a good bit of heat as it gets pumped back to the tank? :confused:
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. Michaelr5

    Michaelr5 Coral Banded Shrimp

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    Noblesville, IN,Indiana
    You might lose a little heat on the return line, but not much. Actually you probably lose more heat from surface evaporation that from the return line. You want to size your heater so it will handle all of your water. For example I have a 55 gal tank & about 25 gal in my sump for a total of 80 gal. Figuring 5 watts of heater per gallon that is 400w. I uses 2 200W heaters in my sump one is set just a hair lower than the other. That way most of the time I only use 200W, but if it can't keep up, the 2nd heater kicks in. The other advantage of 2 heaters is if a thermostat sticks closed, your temp will not rise to rapidly and you have a chance to notice before the tank overheats.

    Mike
     
  4. Dador

    Dador Coral Banded Shrimp

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    364
    Location:
    Dayton, Ohio
    Thank you! That is a great idea!! You've really given this some thought. :eek:
     
  5. BristleWorm

    BristleWorm Plankton

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Cerritos CA
    I dislike the over flow box because you have the speed of the ventury/box, and the pump are seperated. I rather go with a pipe drilled in the tank with gravity since its the speed of the pump that determines the flow of the water. The reason being is that when the pump pumps the water back the water level rises enough to keep feeding the pipe. Basicly you only rely on the pump versus the ventury speed and the pump speed. Also its a pain in the butt to keep restarting the ventury or having to clean it, but thats just my opinion and you probably wont need a check valve either.
     
  6. Otty

    Otty Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,467
    Location:
    Elizabethtown, IN
    What starts the siphon again on the overflow after the power goes out? Does this have to be manually done.
     
  7. amcarrig

    amcarrig Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,219
    Location:
    CT
    Depends on the type of overflow. Is yours internal or external?
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. Matt Rogers

    Matt Rogers Kingfish Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    13,466
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    On a hang on the back siphon box you shouldn't have to unless air blocks the flow in the u-tube. This doesn't happen too often. When it does stick air-line tube up there and suck to start it again.
     
  10. Pisces23

    Pisces23 Sea Dragon

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    509
    Location:
    CT
    Is there any way to determine the flow rate of an overflow box? I got one from a buddy years ago (long before I dared dive into reef aquaria) and I'm just now getting close to installing it and a sump/fuge on my tank. I want to sort out what kind of return pump I'll need and I figure knowing how much flow is coming IN will help me determine how much pump power I need going OUT.
    The overflow box came with a Amiracle Maxi Reef Trickle Filter, if that helps...
     
  11. Otty

    Otty Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,467
    Location:
    Elizabethtown, IN
    So if air blocks the u-tube then I am going to pump all of my sumps water on the floor when my display tank fills up???
     
  12. Matt Rogers

    Matt Rogers Kingfish Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    13,466
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    "The 100 and 200 models have a single outlet pre-filter that can handle 400 gallons per hour. The dual inlet 300 and twin tower 400 models have a dual pre-filter with a capacity of up to 800 gallons per hour."

    I wouldn't sweat it too much. I've had several wet/drys I can only recall once where the air nearly blocked the tube. It should be part of your maintenance routine to check the u-tubes for air.