how to batch convert RAW files to jpeg

Discussion in 'Aquarium Photography' started by Dingo, Jul 8, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. Dingo

    Dingo Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,767
    Location:
    New Freedom, PA
    anyone know how? I cant be spending hours doing this all the time when its such a simple task... haha
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. 2in10

    2in10 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,258
    Location:
    Sparks, NV
    What conversion program are you using? I would think there is an option to do that in the save or convert list.
     
  4. Gresham

    Gresham Great Blue Whale

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,825
    Location:
    SF/Monterey Bay Area, CA
    Easy to do in Adobes Lightroom. Pretty sure PS has the same feature, I just LR for it.
     
  5. shadyzee

    shadyzee Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Dubai - UAE
    I beleive your camera have a CD contains sucha program , i have 7D Canon and use to have 400D as well , they both comes with a programs CD contains a spycial RAW format converter where you can do a multi converts in the same time.
     
  6. Dingo

    Dingo Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,767
    Location:
    New Freedom, PA
    I was using gimp but am really not impressed with it. I didn't want to have to buy photoshop but I guess I will. Was looking for a free program before having to purchase ps...
    I will check out Lightroom first though.
     
  7. steve wright

    steve wright Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11,283
    Location:
    shenzhen Guangdong PRC
  8. Click Here!

  9. jaymostella

    jaymostella Skunk Shrimp

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    North Alabama
    If the raw files are from a canon camera then dpp (digital photo professional) can be use to batch convert the files. Very easy to use and free if you have a canon camera. It can be downloaded from canon website. In the photo forums there are strong debates about pa and light room conversion compared to dpp with color duplication and although a lot o professional photographers like the functionality of lr many use dpp to convert as its thought to be better with color retention. I personally use dpp and convert to tiff, import the tiff into lr for final tweaks and export as jpeg for print. Seems like a lot of work but really isn't. Good luck.
     
  10. Dingo

    Dingo Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,767
    Location:
    New Freedom, PA
    Thank you steve. I am worried about downloading any old program because a lot of those free ones will have virus, trojans, and other nasty goodies in them... Ill check out the sites here though :)

    Ugh I have a Nikon. Know of any software for nikons specifically?
     
  11. Dingo

    Dingo Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,767
    Location:
    New Freedom, PA
    Alright guys, so my girlfriend is still in college and I can get photoshop CS4 through her for $80. I know its an older version but I think I might go with it... what do you think?
     
  12. Thatgrimguy

    Thatgrimguy Flying Squid

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3,025
    Location:
    North Biloxi, MS
    Cs4 is plenty capable. You probably won't even scratch the surface of it's capabilities. You really probably don't need more than lightroom.