how does this sump work

Discussion in 'Filters, Pumps, etc..' started by hddoutside, Jul 11, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. hddoutside

    hddoutside Fire Shrimp

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    Donna, TX
    i have had this sump(?) for a while now and i want to use it. the only problem now is that i dont know how to use it. here are some pics.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Click Here!

  3. blackraven1425

    blackraven1425 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4,780
    Interesting. Is there any break in the leftmost baffle? If not, I have absolutely no idea lol.
     
  4. hddoutside

    hddoutside Fire Shrimp

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    Donna, TX
    here are some more pics
     

    Attached Files:

  5. hddoutside

    hddoutside Fire Shrimp

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    Donna, TX
    left most baffle???
     
  6. bioreefdude

    bioreefdude Fu Manchu Lion Fish

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,932
    Location:
    stockton ca
    water goes in from the tank thru the top hose and into the bioballs and in the last chamber the one with no hose on top in goes ur return waterpump which puts water back in ur tank ...is ur tank drilled or do u have a overflow box
     
  7. bioreefdude

    bioreefdude Fu Manchu Lion Fish

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,932
    Location:
    stockton ca
    i see ur overflow box the water goes down that and back up thru the waterpump back into the tank
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. sostoudt

    sostoudt Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    5,958
    Location:
    Chesterfield, VA
    +1

    although I don't know what that thing with the power cord is from the pictures posted.
     
  10. sostoudt

    sostoudt Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    5,958
    Location:
    Chesterfield, VA
    not to be the guy, but it looks like your tank needs some cleaning lol.

    also nice goldies I have some too.
     
  11. hddoutside

    hddoutside Fire Shrimp

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    Donna, TX
    with cord? the only things that have a cord that came with that was a pump and that filter thing on top. am guessing the pump brings water from the sump to the tank and the filter thing brings water from my tank to the sump. but when i turn it on the pump sucks to much water out of the sump.
     
  12. hddoutside

    hddoutside Fire Shrimp

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    Donna, TX
    oh yea lol i got this leak that i fix now i just need to the clean the salt. then i have that dino bloom that i need to fix also. :sigh: