Hmmm...i want to breed some cichlids but i've never done it before....ADVICE?

Discussion in 'Cichlids' started by CUCCI-WALDRON, Mar 6, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. CUCCI-WALDRON

CUCCI-WALDRON Astrea Snail

:-/
    my husband is buying me a 75 gal tank for my b-day and i was contemplating on making it a breeder tank. I have no idea how to breed, i just thought it would take up some of my free time. My hubby wants to put africans in it. I would too because they are so pretty but aren't some kinda demanding when it comes to the water parameters? I have only had experience with south american cichlids and other amazonian fish. Need advice on what type of cichlids are easy to breed.
    Any help would be appreciated!

Natalie:p

2. Click Here!

3. Guinness0052

Guinness0052 Plankton

I just replied to your old post asking about tanks and what to move where. Africans aren't demanding at all. I would say the opposite. There is more to know about Africans....but not demanding. Check your other post. I am not sure how to merge these together.

4. coldshot

coldshot Blue Ringed Angel

I had some red devils and breed them they are a hardy fish but wouldnt have cept one male and three females...then he will breed....the males look good with the nuchal hump....aggrsive fish though............

5. chris adams

chris adams Purple Tang

black convicts breed like crazy but I would not waste your 75 on a breeding tank.

Use the 75 as your display tank and get a 40 for a breeder.

6. CUCCI-WALDRON

CUCCI-WALDRON Astrea Snail

I HAVE A 150 GAL IN MY LIVIN ROOM....I REALLY WANT SOME BABY OSCARS. I FOUND SOME WILD CAUGHT OSCARS FROM ECUADOR THAT I WAS PLANNIN ON BUYING ONCE I GET THE TANK SET UP. THEY ARE SO CUTE! THE LOOK LIKE THEY HAVE A LEOPARD PRINT PATTERN GOIN ON! LOOK @ THEM ON THIS LINK
    AquaScapeOnline Specializing in piranhas, stingrays, cichlids, plecos, catfish and rare oddball tropical fish.