Help With A VERY Non-Standard System

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by seymour47, Mar 5, 2014.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. seymour47

seymour47 Plankton

Hello everyone. You could say I'm new to this hobby and also not really. I've never owned a salt water tank. The largest freshwater tank I've ever had is a 2.5 gallon beta tank.

That said, I am currently in charge of designing and building a 72, 10-gallon aquarium system. This is an academic research system used for biogeochemistry experiments. As such, my requirements and limitations are a bit different than most. We control for water chemistry and atmospheric chemistry within the tanks as much as possible.

The point I'm hung up on at the moment is designing our filtration system. The current plan is to have sets of 3 tanks (30 gallons total) draining via overflow into a sump located behind them. All tanks will be drilled so I don't think there is a need for an overflow box, if I am understanding everything correctly. We will have skimmers in each sump and return pumps pushing water through chillers and back to the aquaria.

Limitations:
    No bioreactors. These experiments rely heavily on water chemistry, so we can't have random biology (aside from the organisms in question) effecting the water. No sand. No live rock. Bare bottom tanks and sump. One thing we can use is activated carbon.

Space is our other limitation. Obviously, 72 aquaria, 24 sumps, and possbily 24 chillers will take up significant space, so I am doing a lot of squeezing and trying to limit equipment needs.

Advantages:
    Doesn't need to be pretty, just organized.