HELP! Nitrates!

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by reeftankgirl, Mar 12, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. reeftankgirl

reeftankgirl Astrea Snail

Hi there, After reading many Nitrate Threads I just wanted to figure out how to lower my nitrates.... I have a 16g bf, right now they are at 40, I have lost 2 clown fish yesturday but for 2 days now I have been trying to lower them down....I've tried vacumming sand bed which I had never done (Im fairly new to this, only have had my tank for 4.5 months now) and I have done alot of water changes. I cannot afford a denitrator I researched and they are over $100... But I am anxious to lower my nitrates immediatly before I loose my last fish or any of my 5 corals.. Can anyone help? what can I do to lower them right away or fast?

2. Click Here!

3. lunatik_69

lunatik_69 Giant Squid

No3 of 40ppm will not cause a fish to die. You need to find whats causing the No3. Can you tell a little about your set up and what you do to the tank? Luna

4. marleneZ

marleneZ Plankton

reeftankgirl,

Have you checked ammonia and nitrites? Don't vacuum your sand bed, that is where all of the bacterial plankton and larger planktonic animals live who are breaking down the waste products. As lunatik_69 said we need to know more about your tank, how many animals you have, what kind of filtration, do you have a skimmer or carbon, etc.?

Marlene

5. lunatik_69

lunatik_69 Giant Squid

BTW, 40ppm isnt that bad, if you had 80ppm and climbing, then I would be worried for you.

BTW, Welcome to 3reef my fellow Floridian or should I say Miamian.;D

[SCROLL]Luna;D[/SCROLL]

6. reeftankgirl

I have about 25pounds of live rock, 5 corals, 7line wrasse (onlyfish left), sand sifting star, 2 sails, 5 crabs and about 2 inches or live sand. I have a 30g powerhead and I believe what is a 30g filter.

7. lunatik_69

lunatik_69 Giant Squid